The Writing Process

There is no how to for this. It is what it is for each writer. But I am fascinated to read about how other writers go about writing. But this post will be about my process and how it’s changed over the years.

There is no how to for this. It is what it is for each writer. But I am fascinated to read about how other writers go about writing. But this post will be about my process and how it’s changed over the years.

My Poetry process. For poetry I liked to just write, and let everything in me just bleed all over the page. When I would get stuck and couldn’t figure out what I wanted to say or how I wanted to say it. I would take a page and fold it in half. I would take half that page and write. I would use a prompt if I didn’t have an idea. I would write on the entire half page and then stop and see what I got. Sometimes I would have something that I could work with other times it was just a way to keep me going.  With poetry I never really made notes or outlines I just don’t work that way. It doesn’t feel organic to me and hinders the flow. So I am very much freestyle. I’ll go back to something later and give it more structure.

I style write my poetry like this. Since I’m a confessional poet this process of freestyle works best. I’m drawing from my own life and emotional experiences so there’s no need for research or much prep work. This is my way of giving myself permission to feel what I’m feeling and to put it out there. My poetry has always been private, and therefore not something I wouldn’t publish, or at least not lightly.

My process for my fiction developed slowly over time. More so in recent years. When I first started I just sat down and wrote out a story. I had something in mind, from beginning to end and I just put it down. Not much of a process, right? But as I would start to write more fiction, and as each story got longer my process began to change. I would make some notes about characters and a few about how it would begin and end. I would just let the story show me the way. Though that didn’t always work out and lead me to some unfinished work. And  a lot of frustration. So I started giving a loose outline a try and that helped me to focus more on plot and to keep the story moving forward.

But as time went on and my stories started getting even longer and more complicated, (or at least less simplistic themes) I started filling my outlines out a lot more. But after a time I felt like I needed more. So not all that long ago I started googling what other writers were doing. I’ve seen a lot of stuff, some that looked very complicated and some that looked very easy to do. In another post I touched on the plot board a little. There is so much out there so google it and take a look and find one that you like. Once I started this and I could plan out scene, loosely and some are more in-depth. This aspect of the board has really helped me to stay focused. The cool part that I didn’t expect was that this would help me to be more creative with my story. Having the board as a visual I can see the path I’m taking and the path’s that I might instead.

Plus any excuse to buy more post its and pens is all good!

Well guys that’s my process so far. If I should change things up I’ll let you guys know. As always share with me what your process is like. I’d love to hear about it.

Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

