You Should Be Writing

I’ve got the itch to write. You know that feeling. There are ideas percolating within you. Characters are starting to speak to you demanding that you tell their stories.

Yes, you should be writing. There is no perfect time to do so, just the time that you do it. So do it, write!

I’ve got the itch to write. You know that feeling. There are ideas percolating within you. Characters are starting to speak to you demanding that you tell their stories. There is a new world developing inside of you. And it’s all bigger than you. Your body can not contain it and it must come out. So you set pen to page or fingers to keyboard, and you begin to write.

Maybe it flows out of you like water from a fountain. Or maybe it comes in trickles. Doesn’t matter all  that matters is that you are writing. It doesn’t even matter if it’s good. Not at first anyway. The act of writing is what’s important here.  Getting those ideas out of you and into the world is what matters.

Right now it’s about brainstorming. Seeing where the story takes you and what your characters will do. You can figure out plot and theme and genre latter. This is just about creating.

Can you tell dear Reader that I love being a writer? It’s such an amazing thing to be a storyteller. To be the holder of worlds created by you and those before you. It is an awesome thing.

Thought it is not without its challenges, fails and setbacks. It can be so fucking frustrating at times. There are times when I feel like I just can’t do it at all or ever again. I question myself. “What makes me think that I could be a writer?” The answer is simple. Because I love to write. And I love to make up stories. And because I have something to say.

Just like all of you writer out there. So go on, after all you should be writing.

Happy writing.

Leave a Reply

